Vegan MoFo 2015: Day 23 – Autumn Equinox Eats

I don’t play any sports, but I’ve gathered from context that curveballs aren’t what you want.Vegan MoFo 2015

So when today I briefly skimmed my list of MoFo prompts, noted that the 30th was “Autumn Equinox Eats” and wondered whether I would just skip that prompt altogether in favour of a MoFo round-up or something else entirely different, I really wasn’t expecting to find out at 8.45pm, on my journey home, that I had missed a prompt swap and that today was supposed to be Autumn Equinox Eats!

Needless to say, I had nothing prepped at all so of course, “Oh well, now I have the perfect excuse to kick back tonight and not post at all” ran through my head, “One day out of thirty ain’t bad!” But I just couldn’t bring myself to do it.

So, without further ado as it is now 10.30pm, my Autumn Equinox Eats a.k.a. what I happened to eat today with not a glimmer of a thought about the Autumn Equinox!

Breakfast

I had the morning off so I slept in, pottered around lazily, drank two cups of coffee whilst drafting what I thought was going to be today’s post. Got my stuff ready for the day, chatted to a friend on the phone.

I wasn’t overly hungry but knew I had to get a good breakfast in me before shooting off to work, or you can bet I’ll be hangry by the time I get to the train station!

A fairly standard breakfast for me as I had no particular cravings:

  • a banana with cinnamon and almond butter
  • two plums
  • frozen blueberries and frozen strawberries topped with soy yoghurt, chia seeds, sunflower seeds, cinnamon and blackstrap molasses

And that was me out the door!

Snack

My first client was a home visit, and I knew I’d have some time to kill afterwards in which I would do a bit of training, so on the way back to the studio at  I snacked on a small apple and a carton of Rebel Kitchen Banana Mylk.

Late lunch

After a teeny bit of training I hopped on the train across London for a natural skincare product focus group. I had time to walk all the way to the opposite end of the platform so got on a quiet bit of the train where I could enjoy my lovingly packed lunch:

  • quinoa
  • leftover roast squash
  • leftover grilled zucchini, chopped into salad-friendly chunks
  • shredded red cabbage and iceberg lettuce
  • dressed with apple cider vinegar and oil from the sun-dried tomato jar

Autumn Equinox packed lunch

I was in the mood for something sweet to finish with and keep me busy on the delayed train, so I pulled out the little plastic container I had packed with some Urban Fruit Tremendously Tropical mix – it was my first time trying their mixes and it was really good! I don’t know how Urban Fruit manage to make their dried fruit so much tastier than other dried fruit, but I would definitely consider paying the little bit extra for this mix.

Urban Fruit Tremendously Tropical

Another snack

On my way home from the focus group I snacked on the last remaining snack I had in my bag, just because… It was a small handful of Brazil nuts. Selenium intake, check!

Dinner

Weirdly, uncharacteristically, I wasn’t in the mood for much dinner. As I pried into my brain for some idea of what to have, as skipping dinner just doesn’t work for me (I end up having to eat something/everything at midnight after I’ve lain in bed getting hungrier and crankier), it turned out I just fancied salad. Done and done!

Autumn Equinox salad

Forgive me for being slightly repetitive here, but salad ingredients were scarce and time was even more so!

  • shredded red cabbage and iceberg lettuce
  • more leftover roast squash
  • sun-dried tomatoes… obviously
  • hazelnuts… because I didn’t want you to think that my salads are nothing but vehicles for sun-dried tomatoes (but they are)
  • dressed with apple cider vinegar

Dessert

While I was trying not to eat a cookie I ate two plums and a pear.

Then I ate a cookie, because Ben made the rocky road cookies from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar and… need I say more?

Rocky road cookie

So, uh… happy Autumn Equinox, I guess!

2 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 2015: Day 23 – Autumn Equinox Eats

    • greatveganexpectations says:

      It really was the perfect day of eats – no cravings, no hunger pangs, no over-fullness… and that cookie, yes, that cookie…! They seemed easy to make and I have yet to eat one that had any marshmallow in (which is fine by me) so seek thyself out the recipe even if you don’t have the marshmallows handy and make them!

Comments are closed.