Vegan MoFo 2015: Day 7 – Something inspired by a film

So far, most of the Vegan MoFo prompts have had my head abuzz with a multitude of ideas. Not today’s though. Today’s prompt to “make or eat something inspired by a book or film” basically threw my imagination straight into a solid brick wall.

Vegan MoFo 2015

That brick wall was Twin Peaks, the David Lynch murder mystery series from the 1990s. Never has a food been so strongly linked to a movie or character in my mind than cherry pie and coffee has with Twin Peaks and Special Agent Dale Cooper. It would have worked so well, too: I was gifted the box set just before I went off to university, and I have cosy memories of sitting on my single bed in my first year totally immersed in the cold and mysterious world of Twin Peaks playing on my laptop screen. Unfortunately, although Cadry is not taking part in Vegan MoFo, she and her husband David have covered the theme too well for me to do it justice. That, and I never got around to making or eating cherry pie.

Cadry's Kitchen cherry pie

Image from Cadry’s Kitchen

The only other food and movie combination that stuck with me actually has little to do with the film itself, and everything to do with my own ritual around it. Now, I definitely ate cheese toasties more often than I watched Walk the Line, but for some reason the two have been inextricably linked in my head. So I considered having a vegan grilled cheese or toasted sandwich, but although we had a perfectly good block of Violife pizza cheese lurking in the fridge door a few weeks ago, that went bad long before I got around to making a cheesy toastie.

But I couldn’t think of any other film – let alone a book – that featured a particular food, so I turned to the Internet. Ratatouille! Well, duh. Julie and Julia – another fairly obvious one. Chef has only just occurred to me even though I gazed longingly at Kathy’s recreation of the grilled cheese sandwich months ago. I know, another missed cheese toastie opportunity! I need to get on top of that.

Kathy Patalsky's grilled cheese

Image from Healthy. Happy. Life. by Kathy Patalsky

There are heaps of foodie bits in Friends, which Randi of the blog Laughrodisiac captured and veganised stunningly well in 2013… The best I could do is to say that Joey loves sandwiches and I have eaten a fair few sandwiches, but we all know that just doesn’t quite fit the bill – I’ve never even eaten pastrami, vegan or otherwise!

The episode of Friends where Rachel and Chandler steal cheesecake from their neighbours is also dear to my heart and should have occurred to me sooner; I can remember Rachel’s description of the cheesecake word for word, and the whole episode totally embodies how irresistible a good cheesecake is to me. Dear neighbours: if you leave vegan cheesecake outside your door… I will steal it. Thankfully, my mum makes a truly excellent baked New York cheesecake, and now also a truly excellent vegan baked New York style cheesecake.

Vegan cheesecake

And seriously, how fun would it be to recreate the Home Alone 2 room service scene? That used to be one of my favourite movies, and still find the hotel scenes absolutely brilliant. Just look how well they captured that decadence!

Home Alone 2 room service

I think my dream spread would include a variety of tacos, pizza, hummus and flatbread, loads of crunchy veggie sticks and freshly cut fruit, pastries and fruity tartlets, and ice cream sundaes.

Believe it or not, I had never ordered room service until the end of last year, when we landed in Dubai too late to go back out for food. Thankfully, the hotel room service menu was extensive and appealing, and not outrageously priced. It felt so extravagant and I was so ridiculously excited when the food was wheeled in!

Fairmont Dubai room service

I had this meze platter, with hummus, babaganoush, tabouleh, vine leaves, olives, and something else which may have been a moutabel – one of those was an exchange for a non-vegan dip. It came with a gigantic basket of bread which I was so sad to waste. Ben’s non-vegan wrap came with chips and an array of unopened condiments, and he had ordered a strawberry milkshake which came with a little paper hat for hygiene.

We had a real giggle at tucking into dinner in our fancy hotel at midnight, with me wearing the complimentary slippers – sometimes it really is the little things that count!

There are going to be so many wonderful MoFo posts for today’s prompt, but whether are participating or not, what food stands out from a movie you’ve watched? Can anyone think of any books where food features prominently? Let me know if you stumble across anyone who has gone all out and properly recreated the Home Alone 2 spread!

2 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 2015: Day 7 – Something inspired by a film

  1. Cadry's Kitchen says:

    Aren’t you sweet? I’m glad that you liked our send-up to Twin Peaks so much. I can hardly take any of the credit, though. That was all David’s doing.

    I’d like to learn more about your mom’s cheesecake! It sounds fabulous. And look at that hotel spread. Very enviable, indeed.

    • greatveganexpectations says:

      Thanks Cadry, I hope you didn’t mind me borrowing your photo!
      All I know about the cheesecake is that it was made with vegan cream cheese rather than tofu or cashews or anything. She can’t remember what recipe she used and reckons she just used one online, but her go-to non-vegan cheesecake recipe is from the Greta Anna Recipes cookbook, an old Australian book… sorry I can’t be of more cheesecake-knowledge use!

Comments are closed.