Come here often?

Hi there. Have we met?

Perhaps we knew each other a while ago, or maybe we just feel like we’ve known each other forever. It’s still me, but maybe it’s not quite me. We’ve probably both changed quite a bit. I hope we still get along!

I didn’t leave a note because I was all out of words. Just like that: one day they were there, the next – nothing. But slowly, as I knew in my heart of hearts they would, thoughts of this humble patch of the internet with my name on it started to tug at my heartstrings and my fingertips.

Things might change a little around here. I’m not too sure yet how, when, or why, but it’s time for some spring cleaning. Nothing too intense, don’t worry; that’s not my style. But I’m feeling different feels and I hope this reflects that. Join me for the journey. Let’s have some fun with our words and our thoughts and remember what we cared about before everyone else decided to tell us what to care about.

These are some of the things that have been happening, in as little order as I can impose:

+ I wrote two essays, both of them brilliant and frighteningly poor at the same time. I hope my awareness of their shortcomings means they will actually have none… that’s how it works right?

+ I ordered room service in a hotel for the first time in my life. At midnight. Home Alone anyone? Thank you, Fairmont Dubai, for one of the most memorable vegan impromptu dinners I have experience thus far (and for the slippers).

Fairmont Dubai vegan room service

+ I made a delicious (albeit slightly modified) sunshiny breakfast quinoa from a Zsu Dever recipe to hit your bookshelf soon. I can still taste it, it was that good.

Zsu Dever breakfast quinoa+ Ben and I bought a bed! It felt so grown-up lying down on the beds in the bed shop with a view to actually buying one for once.

+ If I could eat sun-dried tomatoes and/or za’atar in every meal, I would. So I do. I would also like to eat the avocado toast from Double Take Café every day, but it lives in Toronto, Australia, so thank goodness for za’atar and sun-dried tomatoes (but how good would this toast be with za’atar and sun-dried tomatoes?!).

Double Take café avo toast

+ In Australia I saw a dolphin leaping, a sea-eagle soaring, some insanely big jellyfish jellyfishing, a pelican choking, and a giant rat. Nature is great, but it isn’t great at cuddles which is why we have cats.

Mika+ I got a new tattoo, but it feels like it has been there forever – in a really good way! I knew what I wanted for years but could never picture it in my mind’s eye. Luckily, Sooz at Fifth Dimension Tattoo is some kind of psychic visionary and created the most perfect tattoo for me that I could ever have dreamed up. It’s like she knew me better than I knew myself. It was scary at first and then just crazy awesome.

Cherry tree tattoo+ I went back to a grappling training session for the first time in over a year! Well, I thought it was grappling. It was submission wrestling. It was a breath of fresh air in a suffocating January (figuratively – literally it was more like gasps of sweat-soaked air in a brutally crisp January).

+ I spent some quality time with a friend before she moved back to Turkey. It was sad to see her go but I was super grateful for the bonding we got to do which, let’s face it, never would have happened had she been sticking around. She also made me these totally crave-worthy almond butter biscuits. They are perfect flight snacks!

4-ingredient flourless cookies+ Ben bought us a Nutri Ninja (with Auto-IQ)! Believe the hype. So far my best concoction has included mango, kiwi, banana, strawberries, spinach, pumpkin seeds, matcha powder, and soy milk.

+ We got to look after a dog for a day and got given a bag of Monmouth coffee (Finca Malacara A, since you asked) and a shiny new cafetière for our efforts. Mornings are a different beast, and so am I.

Cat coffee chillSo that’s what’s been. I want to give everything on here a little revamp at some point, but mainly I want to get a little more personal. In my time off I indulged in a lot of reading of other blogs, falling out of love with some, but much more deeply in love with others, and I realised that the blogs I love the most are not necessarily the ones with the prettiest pictures and the best recipes, but the ones that are held together by one author’s voice and passion and honesty.

So in the spirit of treating others as I’d like to be treated, I will try to open up a little more on this space that is my own. If I could serve you some of my fancy new coffee and those melt-in-your-mouth flourless almond butter cookies while we chat, I would.

Tomorrow I’m planning on sharing the most personal post I ever have shared on here. Beyond that, I’m not sure what will be next, but please join me in jumping off at the deep end.

Thanks for sticking around, and speak soon!

