Monday thoughts: 20th October 2014

It has been a while since I was unable to make Sunday thoughts happen on a Sunday! I can’t say I have missed the feeling of playing catch-up, but there was no way I could actually have written these any sooner; being out and about for most of Saturday, after having had some time to consider drafting this post on Friday but using the time to optimistically start drafting two other posts (I now have three half-written posts in my drafts folder – which will be great for everyone when I actually just find a chunk of time to sit down and concentrate on one of them!), and yesterday coming home much later than planned after a client’s birthday celebrations.

Since I have taken the morning off, I do feel like I am wrapping last week up and starting the new week all at once. If you also feel like you’re still searching for a few hours (or days!) missing from last week, I hope you won’t mind joining me now in this weekly reflection.

Food for thought

  • Once again, Gena of Choosing Raw has summed up an issue that has been on my mind better than I could have done myself and with far less ranting and raving. Read her post on “Getting Real about Diet and Health“. I’ve been trying to articulate my own post on this topic but frankly, Gena has said it all.
  • Another reliable source that always manages to say what I’ve been trying to say for ages, Examine have put together a list of the most common nutrition myths that have been successfully debunked but that somehow keep getting quoted and followed. I can’t tell you how frustrated it makes me to see these crop up again and again!
  • One thing we do all know is that sleep is not only important, it is vital. But somehow, we always seem to forget. Here’s a nice little TED talk to remind us.
  • Did you know that October is Dwarfism Awareness Month? Don’t worry, nor did I. No matter how politically correct and compassionate and considerate we may be, there will always be some minorities that slip through the net of our attention. I don’t think that’s something we can berate ourselves for, as long as we use our acceptance of that fact to work towards catching more of them more of the time, and making sure we never assume that we haven’t forgotten anyone.

Thought for food

  •  I will write a proper full-on birthday post to do it justice. But in terms of standout eats this week… my birthday cake!Birthday cakeBen had secretly ordered it from Sweet Revenge, an independent bakery in Kingston advertising free-from cakes. This is their vanilla cake (apparently the guy Ben spoke to asserted that they couldn’t do a chocolate cake without milk… how odd!) – I love how generous they were with the frosting! It was very rich but I saw that as a bonus, making just a reasonable slice perfectly satisfying (I would say “a small slice” but I’m pretty sure my version of small is not everyone’s version of small). I loved it and was more than happy to eat it all week!
  • We also visited Inspiral on my birthday, which I had only eaten at once in the last four years I have been in London. I was in the mood for something pretty hearty so ordered the sunflower burger and was worried it would be a bit on the small-healthy-and-expensive side, but it was incredible and undoubtedly the best burger I have had in years. Inspiral burgerThe patty was super flavourful and moist and in perfect proportion to the fluffy roll, just the right amount of mayo too! I’d have definitely stuck a pickle in there if I’d had my way, but this was pretty close to perfect.
  • In other news, I believe I had a persimmon for the first time last night. I’m sure I must have had one before, but this is the first one I can remember. They seem to be pretty prominent in my Instagram feed, and I totally get why – I instantly fell in love with the subtly sweet, almost floral flavour, but it’s the super creamy texture that truly captivated me. If you haven’t had a persimmon yet, get your hands on one ASAP!

Happy thoughts

  • Clearly, my birthday was the absolute highlight of my week. I enjoyed every minute of it, and when I woke up the following day I felt like I had been on holiday, such was the break from the usual routine. There isn’t anything about the day that I would change.
  • It is no surprise that in second place is my Saturday pseudo-birthday celebrations with my friends. I say “pseudo” as it wasn’t really my intention to celebrate my birthday, but more to use it as an excuse to meet up with my friends and do something we wouldn’t normally do. I picked a visit to the Saatchi Gallery because I love contemporary art, have never been, and it’s free! I really enjoyed it; I liked about 90% of the exhibitions we saw, and I loved the gallery itself with its bright, airy, spacious rooms. Also, what is it about museum and gallery gift shops and how they are always amazing?! Afterwards, we went for some lunch (for some of us) and hot drinks (for the rest), followed by a wander through Belgravia before ending up in a pub. I’m not normally a fan of pubs but this one had a nice relaxed vibe going on, and we had a good laugh together for a couple of hours before we had to head our separate ways. I then got home to Ben and his amazing pasta-making skills, so it really was a wonderful day through and through!
  • I got the loveliest message from one of my best friends that I haven’t seen in a year, since she moved to the States, which I read upon waking up on my birthday. Little things like that totally perk up my day, though I haven’t had time to sit and write her a proper reply yet.
  • Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to train this week due to a number of niggles and a few lingering sniffles, but I have enjoyed using the time to sit and relax with a cup of tea, reading and reconnecting. Looking forward to going back to training this week though!

And with that, I think it is time I got on with this week, starting with another cup of tea.

I hope you are ready for the week ahead and have heaps to look forward to, whatever that may be. Have a good one! xoxo

