Sunday thoughts

Happy British summer time to everyone this side of various oceans! I hope you are making the most of an extra hour of daylight. I suppose I’m making the most of it by still being awake and fairly productive despite being pretty much exhausted, but I’m not sure how much of that is due to prolonged daylight and how much is due to the fact that I refuse to stop knowing that once I flake out, that’ll be me done until tomorrow.

Of course, the week has been totally dominated by Luxembourg and the Relay for Life, which I have already talked about ad nauseam, but I’ll try and remember the earlier portion of the week!

New things I’ve learnt this week

  • I learnt that giving people water who have taken ecstasy is a big no-no. You hear about people on the drug dancing themselves to exhaustion, and I was sure I had heard things about dehydration. Turns out, rather than simply overheating and sweating too much, ecstasy stimulates the release of an anti-diuretic hormone. This causes the body to retain water, especially in the brain. Eventually, the pressure causes the vital functions to shut down. Drinking too much water can also cause hyponatremia (as I talked about in my posts on electrolytes), where the salts in the body become overly diluted and are no longer able to carry the signals needed to keep vital functions going.
  • In practical learning, I joined in a gym session with two other personal trainers who work in the same studio as Ben and I. We did legs and back (a fairly unconventional split), for 5 sets of 15 reps of each exercise. Although I’ve been lifting free-weights for about seven years now, I don’t think I’ve never done quite so much volume – if I have, it hasn’t been for a very long time! It was nice to do something so different and almost frivolous (the sessions I do with Ben always have some sort of “purpose” to them other than getting ripped), though it’s not the sort of session I’d really recommend. It was interesting to try something new and see how my body reacted; always a reminder that fitness is all relative to your goal.
  • More on the practical learning side, being at the Relay for Life meant I got to watch lots of different people running – it’s so funny to see how everyone has a different gait, some more efficient than others, some more natural and comfortable than others. Just goes to show that running really isn’t for everyone, and if you don’t like it or can’t do it, no worries; it might just not be for you or your body type!

New things I have eaten this week

We’ve actually just gone back to basics this week, and it’s felt so good. Over the last three months I’ve been on holiday, I’ve been intermittent fasting, I’ve been recipe testing, and I’ve been trying to save money. So it’s been really nice to go back to a few simple vegetables-and-tofu bowl meals, and I’ve felt quite a bit better for it.

In Luxembourg though, we did eat at a couple of new places; I tend to repeat myself quite a bit, so I’ll send you over to this post if you haven’t seen it yet!

Other highlights this week

  • Enjoying some lovely warm weather in Luxembourg, catching up with my friends on sunny terraces and exploring new eateries.
  • It might sound dumb, but I really enjoyed putting together my post on strength-training for walkers. I had fun taking the pictures and editing them, writing up the routine, and being able to share it with the world. I’d really like to do some more training programme posts for you guys, what do you think?
  • Ben made us a couple of incredibly good curries this week, which we were able to sit down to with the new series of Masterchef to wind down… It might sound sad, but things like that really do leave me feeling so content!
  • Meeting our friend Tom’s dog, who is the funniest little lump of a staffie, and totally hyperactive. Luckily I’m not scared of dogs as she repeatedly ran at my face with an open mouth whenever I bent down to cuddle her, but I found her adorable.
  • Taking part in the Relay for Life. It’s just such a wonderful event.
  • Running itself has been a huge highlight. I haven’t run in a year (I still can’t believe it – I think that’s the longest it’s been since I started training more regularly about 7 or 8 years ago), and I was seriously worried about how it would go. In the end I ran 1:20 out of my half hour and hour slots, and I think I covered about 17 or 18km, which is a good pace for me at the best of times!

That’s about it from me – just a short one tonight as it’s really just been a gentle and unassuming week. Next week is a big one for Ben and I though; our lovely friend Steph is over very briefly so we are catching up with her tomorrow, before we launch the pilot of our new Ealing running club (it’s free and all levels are welcome – drop me an email for details!). Then on Wednesday my friend Todd lands in London to stay with us for a few days, so we’ll be hanging out a lot and I apologise if I don’t make it onto the blog long enough to post anything this week.

I’m so excited to have run again, caught up with friends, and to have an extra hour of daylight to enjoy over the next few months – and I’m really looking forward to next week! What are you looking forward to this week?

