Sunday thoughts

You’ll have to excuse me tonight, friends, if I don’t seem to coherent in these Sunday thoughts. I’m full to the brim with tiredness, but that good kind of tiredness that comes from a week filled with cheerful and interesting people – and I’m determined to sit back and enjoy it while the night is still fairly young.

New things I’ve learnt this week

It’s been another week of effortless absorption for me… some talk about stress responses to training when added to everyday life, some discussion of the best exercise programme for endurance walking (more on that this week!), and of course I learnt as much as you guys did about pain! Unfortunately, no useful nuggets of knowledge to share with you guys this week.

Instead, check out this TED blog post about athletes now compared to almost 100 years ago!

New things I have eaten this week

  • A little while ago, Emma of the beautiful Coconut and Berries posted a review and giveaway of Cocofina coconut & date bars. I had seen them before but if you’ve followed this blog for any length of time you’ll know I’m a packaging snob… long story short, I never tried them. Seeing as they were on sale this week in As Nature Intended and I was intrigued, Ben bought me a couple. I wasn’t sure what to expect – mushy like a Nakd bar or dry like a sesame snap? Or worse – crumbly like a Clif Crunch? Well, turns out I needn’t have worried, as it was totally unique and absolutely perfect! Dense but chewy with counterintuitive moistness from the coconut flakes, light coconut flavour with rich date undertones, these are going to become a staple of mine!
  • Continuing my exploration of the Divine chocolate range, I got my hands on some 70% Dark Chocolate with Chilli and Orange. I’m a bit of a chili chocolate snob, and this bar didn’t disappoint. Sweet and sunny orange taste throughout their smooth 70% dark chocolate, give in a few seconds and the chili starts to warm, then tingle… Perfect.
  • Then, I also devoured a bar of Montezuma’s Dark with Orange & Geranium. It hit the spot with a cup of oolong tea after a tough Friday afternoon training session, whilst doing some work in our regular coffee-haunt, but I wouldn’t buy it again.
  • I also visited a couple of new coffee shops this week: Talkhouse Coffee who I worried would be pretentious and overpriced but whose coffee truly is stunning, who offer vegan-friendly porridge as well as a vegan avocado toast option, and who gave us wonderful (like, really standout) service to boot; and Muff Customs, a laid-back biker-oriented café in Hackney Wick, which served surprisingly good coffee at great prices, with plenty of smiles and no haughtiness. Both these places have revived my faith in the London coffee scene.

Other highlights this week

  • As always, coffee with friends wins all the awards; in Harris + Hoole with Ben and our friend Tom, in Talkhouse Coffee with Fran and Adam, in Muff Customs with James… It is seriously my favourite pastime.
  • I was quite excited to actually write up a “proper” (ish) recipe and submit it to Ricki Heller’s Wellness Weekend for the first time!
  • Meeting new clients, training old clients.
  • Making chocolate-marmalade fudge brownies (frownies? budgies? frowny budgies?!) as a treat for a client running her first 10k. I started out following a recipe, then thought better of it, and I’m glad I let things get a bit chaotic. Turns out chaos tastes delicious, and someone ended up not being as unhealthy as I had expected!
  • Getting Village Pizza for a Friday night in with Ben for the first time in a while… It really is just so good, even though the delivery guy tried to overcharge us and then “had no change”.
  • Celebrating the first day of spring on March 20th by growing the Mr Grasshead my friend Steph gave me as a Secret Santa present! I’ve decided to document his adventures on Instagram – it might be a bit weird but for a couple of minutes a day, I get to be a complete child and I’m alright with that!
  • Some decent training this week; namely a batch of 1-minute testing (and beating Ben at one of the exercises heehee!!!), and an improvised early-morning Sunday workout which turned out to be more intense than I had planned. In a good way!

I might have told you a little white lie in my opening paragraph; I am indeed keeping this short as I am quite exhausted, but I also have a slice of raw vegan cake sitting in the fridge that I am desperate to tuck into – Ben went to lunch at a friend’s house yesterday for lunch and despite a meat-heavy meal, they had made an organic raw vegan cake filled with cashews and blueberries, so he kindly brought me back a slice!

I hope you’ll join me in sitting back and enjoying a (vaguely) healthy (ish) treat this evening, reflecting on everything that was good about your week, and looking forward to good times ahead!

4 thoughts on “Sunday thoughts

  1. Ricki says:

    Sounds like a great week! Those brownies are calling to me, I think. And so happy to have you link up to Wellness Weekend! 😀

  2. coconutandberries says:

    Glad you liked the Cocofina bars 🙂 So many fun (and tasty!) things for you this week! I’ve been meaning to try Village Pizza for a while so I’m pleased to know it’s good. I want to try the Divine chili choc too.

    • greatveganexpectations says:

      It’s definitely one of the best chili choc bars out there! As for Village Pizza, we normally get their 3 for 2 deal, so 3 huge pizzas for £26-28 which could last multiple meals if I wasn’t such a glutton (I wouldn’t recommend eating more than one large pizza in one sitting though, it’s quite an uncomfortable experience). I usually get a “Margherita Plus” which allows you to add four toppings of your choice (you need to pay extra for vegan dough but vegan cheese is free). I want one now just thinking about it!

Comments are closed.