Fast February: Day 18

Five days down, three to go! So far every day has been a completely different experience to all the others, which was not what I expected. I expected a horrible first day or two, getting progressively easier, but it’s been completely unpredictable. Check out my first, second, third, fourth, and fifth updates if you haven’t been in the loop with my February 5:2 diet challenge.

Tuesday 18th February – Day 16

Weight: 51.7kg (-1.6kg total)

This is the first day I have really felt that my body has been revved up to metabolise food since the start of the experiment. I feel like it was playing catch-up all day; as usual I was only able to eat smaller quantities than I might normally, but I was getting truly hungry again about 30 minutes after each meal.

Luckily, it was also the first day I really noticed a deep nonchalance in the face of hunger; I spent a lot of the day being a bit hungry but, frankly, dealing with it. Ben made us a wonderful dinner of chili which I couldn’t stop eating, and kept expecting to hit the point of no return where you know you’ve eaten too much and won’t want to think about food for hours – but no, I ended up going to bed hungry as it got late and I got sick of eating!

Wednesday 19th February – Day 17

Weight: 52.2kg (+0.5kg / -1.1kg total)

A sign that yesterday was truly an exceptional day is that my morning weight was still very low. That, and I have been out for the count once I lay my head down on the pillow at night. Sleep truly does make all the difference.

Another day that I felt was playing catch-up on calories; hunger just kept creeping up and I ended up having a big lunch which kept me full for a while, but still hungry for dinner. Dinner being just a light meal of veggie sausages and roast veggies (peppers and broccoli), I gave in to the fear of fasting by treating myself to a toasted white bagel with vegan spread and jam, something I would never have in the evening. As it was delicious, something I would never normally eat, and I was still hungry and aware that the next day would be a fast day, I then had another one. I know, crazy eh? The craziest thing is, I didn’t even feel all that bad with the next day’s 500kcal limit on my mind, and once again it was all burned up by the time I went to bed. Though is that the remnants of the last fast day, or the pretty intense leg session Ben and I did earlier in the day…?

Thursday 20th February – Day 18 (Fast day 6)

Weight: 52.8kg (+0.6kg / -0.5kg total) – N.B. This weight was taken on a different set of scales, so could be slightly off

12:00 – After a lie-in and a laze around in bed, not to mention last night’s two late-night bagels and going to bed slightly hungry, I expected to not be hungry at all this morning. Wrong. I have been really quite into the idea of eating for about an hour. And I thought I had my body and appetite figured out! Having a green tea.

13:30 – Two cups of green tea and about 250ml of electrolyte later, I’m finally not feeling quite so ravenous…

15:00 – Hunger was not going away and – worse – I was getting seriously cranky so for the good of everyone I had a Frank bar. Orange & Chocolate, at 119kcal.

17:30 – Back home having had another half litre of electrolyte on the journey which completely soothed all cravings. Had a cup of green tea, about to pour another one. The prospect of another 381kcal to play with for dinner actually sounds like a lot to me right now!

19:30 – The hunger has definitely set back in, and I know it’s getting to that point where I’m either going to have to distract myself with something that’ll engross me for hours, or eat now. As I’m hoping for an early night, it makes sense to get cooking. There are some bits and pieces left in the fridge that needs using up, so tonight is going to be fairly uninspired. Plus I’m addicted to tahini so there’s no way I’m not using that as I have done for about 90% of my fast-day meals:Fast February Day 18

  • 1/2tsp Carotino oil (20kcal)
  • 110g tofu (82kcal)
  • 120g black beans (158kcal)
  • 75g white cup mushrooms (8kcal)
  • 70g kale (23kcal)
  • Total: 291kcal
  • Daily total: 410kcal

With only 90kcal left to play with, no messing around with the ideal dressing formula (minus the tamari again, sob…):Fast February Day 18

  • 13g tahini (87kcal)
  • 1tsp apple cider vinegar (2kcal)
  • thinned out with water
  • Total: 89kcal
  • Daily total: 499kcal

So that’s today done – only two more fast days left to go!

Since it’s still early, I had a muck around with the nutritional content of this meal and we’re looking at approximately:

  • 26g protein
  • 15g fat (of which 3g saturates)
  • 43g carbohydrate (of which only 1g sugars and a whopping 13g of fibre!)
  • 47mg sodium and 0g cholesterol
  • Plus about 217% of vitamin A recommended intake, a crazy 715% of vitamin K, and 144% of vitamin C, along with 60% of folate and 47% of thiamin recommended daily values, and a sizeable chunk of other B vitamins
  • And then we have 89% of our manganese requirements, over half of the recommended intakes of calcium, iron, and copper, a good amount of magnesium and phosphorus, and a sprinkling of potassium, zinc, and selenium (all around the 30% mark)

For less than 400kcal of plants, I’d say we’re not doing too badly! Now if only my stomach would believe me…

Tomorrow begins three days of eating with blissful abandon. I’m off to start prepping my on-the-road breakfast with much love and care!

