Fast February: Day 8

After three days of normality, it’s time for fast day number 3! As it has been a full week now since the start of this experiment, I’m updating my body fat reads as well as the daily weigh-in. Don’t forget to catch up on the first and second posts if you’re just tuning in.

I haven’t recorded my non-fast days since last Thursday, as frankly I just didn’t really think about my food intake all that much, and I was out and about a fair bit. But it’s Monday, and it’s time to go again:

Monday 10th February – Day 8 (Fast day 3)

Weight: 53.0kg (+0.3kg / -0.3kg total)

Body fat: 13.3% (-1.4%)

10:00 – Woken up by the grocery delivery which arrived two hours early. Any other day I’d be thrilled to be gotten out of bed at a slightly more reasonable time, but on fast days I want any excuse to sleep away as much of the day as possible, and I know that a good night’s sleep reduces my appetite more than anything else. Then again, the majority of the people on the 5:2 diet don’t have the luxury of sleeping in late and planning fast days around client appointments, so I guess it’s only fair.

11:00 – Hungry. Decided to meditate but with Ben to rouse me after 40 minutes rather than relying on self-discipline to push through the sticking points. Glad I did as it was a terrible session and I’d have definitely given up after 15 minutes if left to my own devices.

12:00 – Actually properly hungry now. Thirsty too which doesn’t help. Looking forward to a big cup of green tea with lemon, and I’m going to mix up some sugar and lemon and olive oil for an indulgent shower scrub. Anything to feel good on a fast day!

13:45 – Second huuuge mug of green tea is definitely starting to hit the spot. Very hungry, but been kept busy by shower, getting dressed nicely instead of house clothes, cleaning the toilet, taking body fat reads, and now catching up with guest housemate. I’ll go over the progression of body fat reads when I do a summary at the end of the month, but overall my supraspinal read is significantly lower, as are my quads and calves, and a little bit off everything except tricep. No big surprise there – lots of leg work, plenty of walking and steady pace fat-burning bike work – but interesting to see that I’ve dropped a good percent of body fat overall.

14:30 – About to head out for the day but thought it would probably be silly to try and achieve anything knowing I would have no sustenance until after returning home and painstakingly preparing something. Plus, Fast Day 2 taught me that saving everything until the last minute really doesn’t add anything to quality of life on a fast day. I knew I wanted something creamy and toyed with the idea of a shake or smoothie, but instead went with a similar snack to the other night:

Fast February day 8

  • 10g chia seeds (49kcal)
  • 2tbsp unsweetened soy milk (9kcal)
  • 97g banana (86kcal)
  • 8g peanut butter (48kcal)
  • Total: 192kcal

16:00 – Coffeecoffeecoffeecoffeecoffee! A huge 16oz cup for me from local haunt Harris+Hoole – we had a loyalty card giving us a free coffee, so why would I get a small one? I know that coffee, speeding up my metabolism and dehydrating me, was possibly not the smartest fast day choice, but I just wanted something with some flavour to it. I have plenty of hours left in which to fill up on infused hot water.

17:15 – Something sensible now… peppermint tea. Getting hungry again, and it feels much later than 5.15pm. It’s going to be a long evening I feel – I’m mainly dreading the fifteen-minute walk back to the station, getting in and getting changed and meticulously measuring out my perfect 300kcal evening meal. I had plenty of plans today – cleaning the oven, prepping a salad for tomorrow, not to mention lots of writing – but I don’t feel like I’m in a mood to achieve much.

18:30 – Got some good news in that Ben’s evening client cancelled, so I don’t have to walk back on my own, and I will have someone to keep me company in my underachievement. I’m going to eat loads of kale tonight. Kale and tahini. That is all I want right now (well, actually, I’d like a lot of things, but realistically that’s all I’m allowing myself to want).

19:45 – Home and very hungry, though this time brain feels absolutely fine. Have put some peppers in the oven to roast for Ben’s dinner and think I might prep a salad for tomorrow (cooking helps take my mind off my hunger, oddly enough). Having a cup of unsweetened cocoa to keep me ticking over.

  • 1tsp (5g) unsweetened cocoa powder (12kcal)
  • 3tbsp unsweetened soy milk  (14kcal)
  • Total: 28kcal
  • Daily total: 220kcal

Fast February day 820:15 – Had my cocoa, prepped Ben’s dinner, partly prepped tomorrow’s salad… Totally no longer hungry, but really need some real food and should probably do it sooner rather than later. The fridge shelf is overflowing with vegetables, so I’m thinking a big bowl of vegetables with some tahini dressing:

  • 0.5tsp Carotino oil (20kcal)
  • 50g white cup mushrooms (6kcal)
  • 80g kale (32kcal)
  • 80g frozen peas (52kcal)
  • 1tbsp/13g tahini (87kcal) + 1tsp apple cider vinegar (2kcal) + 1tsp tamari (7kcal) + water
  • Total: 206kcal
  • Daily total: 426kcal

Fast February day 8

21:00 – Dinner was disappointing; it definitely needed some tofu or some sautéed sweet potato, something with a bit of stodge, a bit of creaminess. Strange as I considered them and wasn’t in the mood. However, I am full and it is 9pm, and I have 74kcal left to play with, and I want an early night, so I can’t really complain. Going to finish prepping tomorrow’s salad…

22:00 – Result! No longer hungry – enjoying a very hot mug of hot chocolate with all the fixin’s (well, as many as I can have in under 80kcal):

  • 1tsp (5g) unsweetened cocoa powder (12kcal)
  • 1tsp (4g) coconut sugar (15kcal)
  • 3tbsp unsweetened soy milk  (14kcal)
  • Total: 41kcal
  • Daily total: 467kcal

It’s been an odd day, some real highs but also some of the most difficult lows in these three days of fasting. Honestly, I will be glad when this is all over. It’s not as hard as I thought it would be, but I’m sick of planning every meal and snack, I’m sick of longing to eat out, I want to go back to being able to just grab a small snack when I feel hungry without obsessing over it and devising snacking strategies. But I’ve made my bed and I shall lie in it!

Thursday, my next fast day, will be an interesting one as I will be having a very early start and travelling through the morning… More on that later!

