Sunday thoughts

You may be surprised to see these Sunday thoughts up as, if you have been keeping up with my posts, you’ll know I am away with no access to writing materials and even less to the virtual world.

But I couldn’t quite bring myself to miss out on Sunday thoughts for the very first time since they were started I-don’t-even-know-when. So I have written these in advance, if nothing else to not disturb your Sunday routine and to give you an excuse to reflect on your own week. Because I obviously have less to say, and to mark the point that these Sunday thoughts are a little different, I am doing away with the usual format.

In the two days before I left for my meditation course, I continued to learn a whole heap about sports massage, with a bunch of practice before the big job I mentioned in last week’s edition (which, in the end, got cancelled at the last minute). As well as learning more techniques, more tips and tricks to save as much of my own energy as I could, I got to experience more different types of body (I know how strange that sounds, sorry). That’s definitely been the standout element this week.

Except, of course, by the time you read this I bet (I hope!) I will have learnt a whole heap about meditation or, more specifically, about the vipassana technique.

In more random facts, I was pretty surprised to find out that the four most popular types of apple in the UK actually all originated from Australia or New Zealand; Gala, Braeburn, Jazz, and Pink Lady. For more apple knowledge, check out this article – am I the only one who gets really into reading this stuff? The more useless the knowledge, the better!

At the point of writing this, I hadn’t eaten anything new this week, though goodness knows what I have been eating by the time you read this! According to the course information and code of conduct, “It is not possible to satisfy the special food preferences and requirements of all the meditators. Students are therefore kindly requested to make do with the simple vegetarian meals provided. The course management endeavors to prepare a balanced, wholesome menu suitable for meditation.” I would assume this would have to be vegan – least risk of allergy or intolerance, cheap, compassionate, simple, wholesome, easily digestible. I’d be quite surprised if it turned out not to be vegan, and if that does happen I will try to limit the amount of non-vegan ingredients I consume; I believe we have enough choice available so as not to require animal products, which are now a cruel and exploitative industry – but if I have no choice as to what to eat in order to survive (beyond, “I’m hungry and this cheesecake is right here”) then I will justify eating a small amount of animal products. Of course, you could argue that I could have chosen not to go on this course, and that is entirely correct, but this is something I feel I need to do. Anyway, as I said, I can’t imagine the food not being vegan, and I have been assured by those who have completed it before me, that it appears to be.

As for highlights this week – hopefully the course is one of them! In any case, enjoying a productive yet peaceful Monday with Ben (and the cat, of course!) was genuinely soul-soothing, and being able to practice more massage was really exciting. Although I am writing this before setting off on the course, I am assuming I will enjoy the couple of hours on the train – I love train journeys (well, mainly I love eating sandwiches, reading, and sleeping)!

So that’s it, short and sweet this week, and I would love to say I am thinking of you all but hopefully I will be thinking of nothing… Haha! I will miss writing, but I will look forward to returning to it. I hope you have all had a good week, and I will catch up with you all in a week from now!

