Sunday thoughts

This week has been a bit of a rollercoaster. A gentle one, admittedly, but there were definitely some ups and downs in there. Most ups related to it being my birthday on Tuesday, and most downs related to being a bit unwell. Right now though, Ben and I are at his brother’s enjoying the peaceful house and the cat’s company, so this is definitely one of the highs – and I can’t ask for anything more than to finish the week on a positive note.

New things I have learnt this week

Once again, with a foggy unwell brain, a birthday day out, a couple of days spent working on a translation, and a couple of evenings out, there has been little room left for expanding my knowledge.

  • However, I did learn a lot in practical terms on Saturday morning as I did some last-minute massage practice for a big massage job Ben and I have secured for Tuesday. I’m not sure it would be very professional of me to reveal who the clients are, but let’s just say the few slender bodies I have previously massaged have not been the most appropriate practice. Luckily, I got to lay hands on a very muscular body on Saturday, which was a huge learning curve for me; as well as being able to feel the different between a heavily conditioned muscle and a deconditioned muscle (and, as a bonus, an injured muscle), I had to think a lot more about my technique in order to preserve my own strength – all these things that I knew but hadn’t quite been able to experience for myself. I’m not sure “learning curve” is the word here – maybe more like “learning cliff face”.
  • For my birthday, Ben and I also spent part of the afternoon at the British Museum, so that was full of learning, though obviously I didn’t remember any facts!
  • Just last night I finally finished Bill Bryson’s A Short History of Nearly Everything, which ended with a lot of question marks about just how we did evolve, and a lot of depressing facts about how many more species have become extinct since humans have been around, including some alarming stories of last specimens being stuffed and then forgotten or thrown away by museum staff. I wish I had managed to finish the book as quickly as I had started it, to appreciate it with the same vigour, but I loved it all the same and highly recommend it to anyone!

New things I have eaten this week

Ooh boy has my birthday week been a good one for this! I was taken to many a place I hadn’t been before:

More on these in a separate birthday post!

Unfortunately, as I haven’t been well, I haven’t really been eating a huge amount, and certainly not experimenting with anything. The only new thing I have tried is the Essential Yeast Extract I was sent by Laura in the August Vegan Food Swap. I have had Natex reduced salt yeast extract before, and while I didn’t hate it, I didn’t really love it either. This one is completely different though – much more mellow in flavour, with a silky molten-cheese texture, and a salty cheesy flavour. I found the texture much more pleasant on toast, and the product as a whole much easier to cook with. I’m so surprised at how much I enjoyed it!

(Last minute update: Ben, with my and Steph’s help, made chapatis tonight – and they weren’t actually a disaster!)

Other highlights this week

  • Having a whole day out with Ben for my birthday, and finally visiting the British Museum and Itadaki Zen!
  • Being taken out the following evening by my friends Fran and Laura
  • Although I didn’t get to speak to any of my family on my actual birthday (I switched my phone off whilst out and about with Ben so I wouldn’t be hanging onto emails), I spoke to my parents, my aunt, and my granddad the following day and it was really nice to catch up with family
  • All of my clients had really great sessions this week, we all had a good laugh and got some good results, so that always makes me happy
  • After work on Saturday morning, being able to sit down with Ben and have some lunch before heading off to his brother’s house in what felt like a rare moment of true peacefulness and excitement at the week ahead
  • Inviting our friend Steph over for an afternoon of cake, cat, good conversation, a bit of massage practice, a home-cooked dinner, etc… All this after I had spent the morning on the couch, then had a nap. Pretty much a perfect Sunday!

On that note it’s time for me to sign off (while it is still Sunday over here!) and finish off the evening without a screen in front of my nose. This week should be very exciting, with more massage practice, my first big massage job, and then I’m off on a meditation retreat – but I’ll tell you more about that soon!

I hope you have all had a good week – especially if it was your birthday! – and are enjoying a relaxing evening! I have so many more posts in the pipeline, so hopefully I’ll be able to bring you all up to date very soon 🙂

