What comes around goes around

And I could really do with the UK Vegan Food Swap coming around more often – having said that, I think it’s the fact that it does only happen once a month that makes it so exciting, and truly something that brightens up my routine!

This month I drew Rachel’s name – the very same Rachel who sent me one of the most amazing collections of vegan treats I have seen, back in March. Needless to say, I was slightly worried by the thought of having to match the quality, quantity, and variety of goodies she sent me! But as Rachel quite rightly pointed out in her email, it’s not a competition, and even I know that any vegan treat is appreciated, even if it’s one you’ve had a dozen times before!

As Rachel lives in the same general area as me, I was hoping to be able to explore some more random shops to find something that she may not have seen or tried before. Unfortunately, swapping time coincided with moving-house time and quitting-job time, and I just didn’t get a chance to spend a couple of hours wandering, picking things up and reading labels.

I also then didn’t get a chance to take a photo of the parcel before I sent it (later that day, I forgot all my pin numbers and ended up getting my card blocked, so you will understand it was a fairly hectic day). Luckily, Rachel posted a photo on Twitter, so I can give you some idea of what I put in it:

That purple packet in the corner is HBS Dried Assorted Beancurd – I know, it doesn’t sound good, but it’s a collection of little packets of tofu jerky, and sure they’re weird but they are also delicious! Next we have Double Stuff Oreos. Enough said. Then we have the little mini banana and chocolate chip loaf I picked up from The Allergy + Free From Show, my staple Chipotle Tabasco, a box of Kromland Farm Vanilla Rooibos because it sounds delicious and I loved the packaging, a Strawberry and Chocolate Frank Bar because I don’t believe they’re even in shops yet, a little Organica Hazelnut Nougat Dark Chocolate Bar (I know they’re everywhere but they’re also so good!), a Clive’s Soya Roll because they are incredibly good hot or cold and I wanted to take advantage of knowing the package didn’t have far to go in the post, and De Rit syrup waffles just because.

The parcel arrived the next day and Rachel sent me the loveliest thank you message – turned out, to my surprise, that she had actually never tried the syrup waffles before, so I feel like my job here is done! I love that Rachel gets the boxes sent to her office, so that curious omnivores can peak in and see what wonderful treats we vegans get to enjoy!

About a week later, I was fast asleep at 9.30am (which seems to be about my deepest sleep time, rather inconveniently) when the doorbell played its soothing little jingle. Being a very with-it human being, of course, I had no idea what was happening when Ben leapt out of bed like a salmon – until he returned with a parcel addressed to me. My vegan food swap parcel from first-time swapper Kirsty! I decided to take my time to wake up so that I could appreciate its contents fully – I’m glad I did, because I was as excitable as a child on their birthday as I discovered all my treats:

June Vegan Food SwapI had actually not seen a bunch of these brands, and would you believe that I had never tried a single one of them!

I attacked the kale chips (BBQ flavour, how much better can you get?!) within a couple of hours and I don’t think I have eaten a snack so quickly in a very long time – they were so much better than my sorry version which should have been called kale flakes rather than kale chips! Unfortunately I can’t find a link to these online, so I can’t influence anyone to go and buy them straight away, which is all I want to do now!

Really love the packaging of the Lap Snacks Habas Mojadas spicy broad beans. They look delicious yet, as Kirsty pointed out in her lovely little card, the ingredients aren’t actually too unwholesome for a savoury flavoured snack.

I have seen the Goody Good Stuff sweets around but many of them aren’t vegan – haven’t eaten peach jelly sweets in so long, really excited for when that pure sugar craving hits! Ditto for the marshmallows – I haven’t seen Freedom Mallows around before, but they look fun and I bet they are juicy and soft and squidgily delightful!

They do say the best things come in small packages… And I am as excited as ever to try the little cappuccino-flavoured Elite hard candy – although I am not much of a “candy” person, I always loved those creamy toffee sweets, so I am looking forward to this! As for the Go*Do Espresso Coffee organic dark chocolate and the little bag of jasmine tea – I think it’s pretty obvious why those are both perfect for me?!

Oh and Kirsty sent me a butterfly-print card – and I sent Rachel a butterfly-print card! I’m starting to wonder if I know Kirsty already… 😉 She also included a Secret Society of Vegans sticker which promptly found a home on my laptop:

SSOV sticker

So that’s another successful UK Vegan Food Swap – if you haven’t signed up yet, why not? You don’t even have to be vegan as long as you buy and send vegan treats! You’ve still got a little while until the deadline for the July swap, so sign up now with To Happy Vegans – thank you to Mitsu and Sasha for organising this, and a huge thank you to Kirsty for such a charming box of happy!

2 thoughts on “What comes around goes around

  1. Kirsty says:

    Ah! I’m so glad you liked it Claire, it was a real pleasure 🙂 I would encourage anyone to join the vegan food swap, it’s so much fun! x

Comments are closed.