Sunday thoughts

This has possibly been my most productive week this year – my head is all buzzing with thoughts and resolutions and initiatives, which I can only attribute to my recent holiday added to consistent sunshine, as well as getting back to my normal weight and body composition.

However, while I have achieved a lot of concrete tasks, I don’t feel I actually have much that fits into my usual Sunday Thoughts categories – which is fine by me really as these posts were designed to pick me up after a monotonous and seemingly uneventful week; it stands to reason that if I have been busy achieving stuff and eating healthily, I don’t need to worry too much about making myself learn or trying new foods.

But as I am not a quitter, and I am a creature of habit, and I can only hope that these weekly reflections inspire my readers to look back on their week, I give you May’s first batch of Sunday thoughts:

New things I have learnt this week

As I said, I haven’t been particularly studious this week, though I did have to put a lot of thought into designing an 8.5k jogging/running programme to fit into a 5-week period

New things I have eaten this week

Again, I haven’t really been particularly experimental this week because I’m quite enjoying going back to basics with my food and enjoying clean ingredients for their own sake. However, here were some of my food highlights:

  • avocado on toast for lunch on Saturday – the avocado was perfect, possibly the best avocado I have ever eaten in the UK, and it was the ideal snack for a casual afternoon of blogging and looking out at the sun.
  • I actually made porridge at work the “traditional” way with a pinch of salt, then liberally topped it with ground flax seed, cinnamon, peanut butter and blackstrap molasses – just small quantities of each – and it was a taste sensation!
  • getting back into toast for breakfast on the weekend, with sliced bread, Pure spread and my mum’s homemade rhubarb and ginger jam – simple, sweet, crunchy, warm rounded flavours – happiness in a breakfast.
  • back at the Karma Free Pizza Company on Friday night… I have yet to have a bad meal there!
  • my pasta dish for lunch at work this week was actually really tasty, all the flavours and quantities balanced out just right – and I really enjoyed snacking on sugar snap peas whilst waiting for it to heat up in the microwave.
  • Ben’s dinner on Saturday night of oven-roasted tofu with mushrooms and peppers, served with sweet potato wedges, and a tangy spicy tomato sauce. Every ingredient was cooked to perfection to bring out its individual flavour, and we have never made sweet potato so well. Plus it was exactly what I was in the mood for, and we had just the right amount of food so that we didn’t stuff ourselves and spend the evening feeling unwell, so it was a wonderful dining experience.

Other highlights this week

  • Getting back into training with a couple of long sessions definitely made me happy, as well as losing some of the fat around my middle (or at least feeling like I have) so that I just feel a little more comfortable rolling around on the mats.
  • Writing a training programme for a friend training for a team marathon, and getting it done in a surprisingly short time.
  • Going for a walk in the sunshine on my lunch break on Tuesday, whilst chatting to my parents on the phone.
  • Being sent home from work early on Friday with the rest of the department, as we hit a milestone target early in the day – then taking myself for coffee in Pain Quotidien in Notting Hill Gate, to make the most of the sunshine coming through the big windows and do some work.
  • Starting and finishing the design of a photobook I am making for my grandma, to thank her for financing our holiday to Australia.
  • Arranging to meet up with two of my work friends on Saturday evening – I can’t believe how lucky I am to have worked in a team with people I get on so well with I miss them all the time, as much as I miss the friends I grew up with when I don’t see them!
  • Deciding to move in with Ben this month!
  • Having a truly fantastic, productive and restful Saturday; a good sleep and a lie-in, avocado on toast for lunch, the strongest coffee I think I have ever had, sitting and writing a blog post while Ben cleaned up the garden, going into Central London to have coffee and a muffin with friends, and back home to a fantastic dinner cooked by Ben, ending with a movie in bed – I enjoyed every waking moment of my day.
  • Coming up with more business plans… details to trickle through this week so stay posted!

Looking at those lists, it has truly been a week full of all the little things that count. The only things missing were my childhood friends who I haven’t seen this week and who have gone away from the weekend while I opted to stay in London and continue sorting my life out – but I look forward to catching up with them soon, and I am glad I used the spare time to catch up with my “work” friends. I wonder, if every weekend were like this, would I still enjoy it as much…?

I hope everyone else has had a fantastic weekend so far, and for those of you who have the day off on Monday, I hope it gets even better!

