Sunday thoughts

Finally this week has been a bit more steady at work, the snow has started to thaw, and higher temperatures are on the way. We’re nearing the end of January and that is always a good sign, though I have to say I have had much worse Januaries, and this week I certainly can’t complain.

New things I have learnt this week

  • I think the main thing that got me thinking this week was delving deeper into the intermittent fasting craze – I will definitely be doing some more research on the subject.
  • Only 4% of women would call themselves beautiful“, according to Gala Darling (thank you Christina for the link!)
  • In the same vein as the above, model Cameron Russell states that “53% of 13-year-old American girls are unhappy with their bodies” – and by the time they are 17 years old, 78% of them dislike the way they look. I think this is utterly horrifying and it makes my gut tie itself in knots.

New things I have eaten this week

  • Mini Choccie Dodgers – I had been eyeing them for a while, and after a couple of successful weeks for my team at work, I thought I would bring in a little bag of them to share as a reward. I love that they are in little 100kcal snack packs, very cute and health-conscious! Taste- and texture-wise, they don’t compare with good old Bourbon, but they are great for  those times when you require something a little more “fun”.
  • Prestat Intensely Dark Chocolate (80%) – all the frills are on the packaging; don’t get me wrong, the chocolate is lovely, but it doesn’t jump out at me as anything special.
  • Prestat Dark Chocolate with Raspberry – this was much more exciting! A sharp, floral raspberry tang from the little pink flecks of raspberry scattered throughout the chocolate, but also a more summery fruity richness to the whole bar in each mouthful. Really lovely chocolate!
  • Ben and I visited the Karma Free Pizza Company in Harrow on Saturday. I had heard a bit about it, as well as visited the website and their Facebook page, and read the To Happy Vegans review . I was a little worried as I have never had a proper vegan pizza – only ever got vegetarian pizzas with the cheese left off – and my expectations were high. All I can say is… it’s been over 24 hours and my mouth is still watering at the thought of our fantastic meal! I won’t say any more now as this place deserves a post of its own, and I have some photos to share as well, but I would highly recommend anyone with the ability to get themselves there do so as soon as possible because it truly blew me away.
  • Finally properly got into my UK Vegan Food Swap box and tried out the savoury snacks Emma sent me. I loved the Neals Yard Sesame Sticks which reminded me of something between Chipsticks and egg noodles… I know that doesn’t sound particularly good but they were so moreish (I’m not going to admit to how much of the bag I ate… Or how quickly I ate it)! I wasn’t as much into the Neals Yard Toasted Corn Snacks which were a bit salty and a bit too crunchy for me last night, but they are still an interesting addition to the snack repertoire!

Other highlights this week

  • I enjoyed a half-day on Monday in exchange for the Saturday I worked a couple of weeks ago – so I had enjoyed a nice lazy weekend and did my grocery shopping and food prep for the week on my leisurely Monday morning. Then before heading into work I had a delicious brunch of sweet potato (baked in its jacket and sprinkled with cinnamon, topped with almond butter) with tempeh, kale and red pepper:

Sweet potato, kale, tempeh brunch

  • Possibly as a result of that nice relaxed day, I had a pretty excellent session on Monday night. Actually, Tuesday and Wednesday nights weren’t bad either!
  • Going to Karma Free Pizzas gets another mention here. It had been a while since Ben and I had eaten out, even longer since we’d eaten anywhere new, and it’s so nice to go to an ethical, independent, family-run chain who, as a bonus, make delicious food! I was also really touched by their appeal for people to direct rough-sleepers to them so they could give them a free, hot pizza – it really made my day to be reminded that there are some good people out there.
  • Going to a friend’s birthday party and not actually being the first to leave – I really struggle to go out and stay out in the evenings, I don’t know why but I guess it’s because I spend most of my days running around and most of my nights at the gym, so I’m really protective of my nights off. But it was truly wonderful to catch up with some friends I hadn’t seen in a while, and just to chat with those I see more regularly!
  • Having a cuddle with this guy on Sunday morning:

JeanWell after last night’s late bedtime – and the consequent very late wake-up this morning – I had better start making an effort to get myself wound down and getting ready to sleep. I didn’t sleep very well throughout most of last week and I really don’t want to end up as frayed around the edges as I was by the end of last week. Lack of sleep and general mental fatigue are what I blame for a really poor and frustrating session last Friday. However, the rest of the week’s training was good so I’m not going to dwell on that!

I hope everyone who reads this has had a good week, and has plenty to look forward to in the coming week, to end January on a high note! As always, any comments and personal anecdotes are always welcome 🙂

3 thoughts on “Sunday thoughts

    • mouchelux says:

      Yes, do! It’s totally worth the visit – it looks far out but it’s so close to the tube station it’s really not a big deal. They are so lovely, and the food is excellent, plentiful, and really good value. Broke my heart to see a busy Domino’s down the road!

Comments are closed.