It’s the little vegan things that count (especially when they come in a big box)

Right this is going to have to be a quick one because despite tonight being an “early” training night it is still 10 past 10 and after deciding I had no reason to avoid doing cross-trainer sprints yet again, my body could do with its recovery sleep!

However, this post is long overdue as my birthday was now well over two weeks ago and I still haven’t posted the box of treats Ben got me! That’s two weeks of vegan birthdays that uninspired omnivores may not have known how to cater for!

Biona Wholegrain Spelt Penne: Just so much tastier than wheat pasta!

Linwoods Milled Sunflower & Pumpkin Seed

Rude Health Ultimate Muesli: I was sceptical, I must say, after all muesli is just a collection of oats and nutty seedy things and maybe the odd piece of dried fruit. And if too many cooks spoil the broth well, so do too many ingredients in my opinion. But you know what, somehow it works, and all the different flavours manage to come out together individually yet harmoniously. Good job.

Biofair Quinoa Tricolore: Crunchier and tastier than “standard” quinoa. Would be curious to try the components separately.

Booja-Booja Truffles – Banoffee Toffee and Stem Ginger: I’m not going to say anything about these. Go and get yourself a treat, and see for yourself!

Clif Builder’s Bars – Chocolate: Well you know my feelings on these. The fact that I got a whole box of them for my birthday says enough.

And a selection of Nakd bars – Apple Pie, Banana Bread, Berry Delight, Cashew Cookie, Cocoa Delight, Gingerbread, Pecan Pie

I might get the link to this post printed up on a stack of business cards so when people pityingly look at me when they find out I’m vegan and ask me if I can eat chocolate, I can just wave them away with a business card. The less time I spend listing all the treats I can have (which is, as you can see, a lot) the more time I can spend eating delicious food.

It is interesting that quite a lot of that stuff is healthy, too… Maybe we gym-goers are just an entirely different species? Or can anyone grow to get this excited about spelt pasta? You tell me! I would bloody hope we’re not a separate species as it looks like we may be about to die out. To the healthy-vegan-cake-mobile I say!

And speaking of healthy (and different tastes…), I have finally managed to pause before devouring my dinner and take a picture of it:

1/2 aubergine, about 1/4 broccoli head, a very generous handful of kale, a scatter of meat-free mince, a dribble of hot sauce, plenty of salt and pepper, and once served, one tablespoonful of tahini

I can’t be bothered to work out the nutritional values right now, and I’m not entirely sure I want to know, but I’d say I’m getting a fair dose of a lot of goodness right there. And hey, it’s what I eat about 3 times a week on average and I’m still here, maintaining weight (potentially even getting bigger but leaner) and training hard so I must be doing something right!

And if we want a moral to our Tuesday story, it is go forth, find something healthy you actually like, and enjoy making delicious healthy food!

What is your go-to staple dish after a training session or a long day? I’d love to hear what works for you!

